Friday:) Friendly Firemen and More Murphy Moving Day Mayhem

26 Aug

The present is the ever moving shadow that divides yesterday from tomorrow. In that lies hope. ~Frank Lloyd Wright

********************

I was meandering down Stonebridge Drive with a batch of mini cupcakes and brownies in the backseat, hoping to catch my dear friends, the Murphy’s packing up the old house. I was so spoiled. When I’d drive down the street after church or on my way home from the store, I’d pull in their driveway, call on the phone, and say,”Hi, what ya guys doin’?” Sherri would answer, “Not much, where are you?” I’d always reply, “In your driveway!” or “At your front door.” So this was going to be my last nostalgic drive-by. I didn’t call, I just pulled up and Michael was  loading up boxes. 


I’ve always gotten a big opened arms welcome. It was sad to see the once vibrantly decorated house all empty and boxes piled high everywhere. But, I’ve been to their new house, and Sherri already has it looking like home. It’s gorgeous. BUT IT’S NOT ON MY WAY HOME! And it’s not in McKinney. Granted it’s just a few miles further, but I was so spoiled. (Maybe they moved because of the drive-bys?- Hmm?) 


Sherri was up to her ears in boxes. I take that back. They were taller than her. And they were both so sweet to take out a few minutes to let me take some nostalgic pictures for my memory album and my blog.


I love these guys! Hopefully they’ll still drop in for Black Russian Fridays now and then, and I’ll get invited to family gatherings, and we can go sing karaoke at the VFW together. 

Besides my messing with the Murphy’s on moving day, I stopped at the fire stations to take some goodies. As you know, when I bake, I bake BIG.

The guys at Station 2 were sitting behind the truck and the bay door was open, so I just walked right in, and the treats were more than welcomed.


I had stopped at the 5 earlier in the morning, but they were out on a call, so I went back a few hours later. Still, no answer on the red phone or from me tapping on the window. So, not to waste another trip, I drove over to Station 8. I’ve been there a few times, but usually just at Christmas. A young trainee answered with a big smile and said, “Thank you Mam!”


Isn’t he cute? So young! I’ve got shoes older than him. But, thank God for strong young men and women who decide to serve their community and their country. 

It was a good day of visiting, reminiscing, and sharing…Now, for Black Russian Friday. Yay! 

Directions: Post blog, fix Black Russian, put feet up, watch tv. My day is done. 

HAPPY FRIDAY Y’ALL!

Leave a comment