Friday Free Throws and Fulmination

16 May

“All at once, I couldn’t figure out why I was methodically tossing a spherical object through a toroidal object. It seemed like the stupidest thing I could possibly be doing.” 

― John Green

************

Yoga is not for me. I can’t sit still, balance or pretend I’m all calm inside. So, when my friend Diane asked if I wanted to go to yoga his morning, I said I’d go to the YMCA with her, but no yoga. I’d work on some machines or something. When I arrived, I rode the stationary bike a while, then went into the empty gym to run a few laps. (I hate treadmills and refuse to use them.) Sometimes I grab a basketball and shoot a few hoops. 

I made a startling discovery while trying to make a basket. Sometime in the past forty years, while I wasn’t looking, I think they changed the distance of the free throw line. I couldn’t make one single free throw. After about thirty failed attempts, I decided to just run and dribble cross court, make a few lay ups then run across again. It felt pretty good, just like the old high school days when we hung out in the park. The only difference now is, I’m not sixteen, I’m in my sixties. Imdid pretty good for an old lady.

  
I’m going to go back there next week and measure.

When I got home, I ate a little breakfast then went out later for a brisk walk in the drizzly  afternoon. Did I mention That I’m an old lady? I keep forgetting.

So, now for the “fulmination.” I was munching on a handful of mixed that I keep in a big glass jar on the counter. I felt and heard a crunch. Thinking it was just a shell, I spit the contents into the garbage. A few minutes later, I realized I had a gaping hole in my mouth. My crown on my lower back tooth was gone. I carefully sifted through every inch of the garbage. No crown to be found.

  
I called the dentist and was able to get in right away. That’s the good news. The bad news…$1,500 to replace the crown. Yikes! The end.

  

One Response to “Friday Free Throws and Fulmination”

  1. Dan Hennessy May 16, 2015 at 6:01 am #

    No fun nohow ! Sorry .

Leave a Reply

