Sunday Sermon, Pancake Breakfast, Some Silly Stuff

26 Sep

“To obtain wealth beyond measure, seek to make more friends than money.” 

― Richelle E. Goodrich

******************

Finally, a good rain, cooler temps, and Sunday. A good day. 

Today’s Gospel from Luke was the story of the rich man who dined lavishly every day, and the poor man Lazarus, covered in sores who lay at his door. Both died, but Lazarus was taken up to heaven by angels and the rich man suffered in hell. The rich man looked up and asked Abraham for mercy.

Abraham replied,‘My child, remember that you received

what was good during your lifetime 

while Lazarus likewise received what was bad;

but now he is comforted here, whereas you are tormented.

*****************

My take on it…You can have all the riches, treasures, and pleasures of the earth, but if you do not share your blessings, if you are not kind and generous to others, if you are dishonest, greedy and selfish, well then, enjoy these few earthly years because that’s all you’re going to get.

*****************

After 9 o’clock Mass, the Knights of Columbus hosted a pancake breakfast in the community center. It was a rainy day, but many attended. I sat with some friends and talked with some folks I didn’t know. It was a good morning.



I snuck back in the kitchen and took a picture of the guys hard at work. That’s so nice of them to host this several times a year.

Usually, I stop at the store after church, but I had a hearty breakfast, so I went straight home. It was still drizzling a little most of the day, but Imstill wanted to get out for my walk, so I grabbed my umbrella and went out.

Mr. Larry and Miss Sandy were sitting in their garage, enjoying the welcomed cool afternoon.of course, I was invited to sit and chat. And, seeing that it was almost 5 o’clock somewhere, I was offered a beer, which I graciously accepted. Last time Imsat and had a beer, I staggered home, so this time I only drank half and brought the rest home with me.


Nice folks.

Miss Sandy returned my aluminum pan that I’d brought brownies in last week after her surgery, so I decided to use it as an umbrella. I was a little tipsy, so it sounded like a good idea.


I made it home safely. I don’t drink and drive, but I will walk home three blocks in the rain sipping a Coors. How daring!

Happy Sunday!

One Response to “Sunday Sermon, Pancake Breakfast, Some Silly Stuff”

  1. Bonita September 26, 2016 at 3:48 am #

    U r sooo darlin!

Leave a Reply

