Friday:) My Feverish Baking Frenzy

10 Jun

“A baking frenzy is good for the soul, and for the tummy. Not so much for the diet.”

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

**************************

I’m taking a short break to put my feet up and rest a minute before I get back to my baking and food frenzy. Tomorrow is Mom’s big 90th birthday bash. My sister JoAnn and I have been running around, preparing, shopping, and getting ready for the big day. 

I love to bake, so that is my favorite task. Yesterday, Inwas busy making the chocolate cake bon bons, that still need to be dipped in chocolate. I’m not into recipes, but this is how I made about 100 of these yummy treats. 

I made two chocolate cake mixes, following directions. Then, I made some homemade cream cheese chocolate frosting. My recipe, hmmm? A package of cream cheese, 3 or 4 sticks of softened butter, a pound or more of powdered sugar and some cocoa powder, a few teaspoons of milk as needed. All just by eye and feel.


Then, I mush up the cooled cake with a few big scoops of frosting, then, mush and knead, until it’s smooth like clay. And roll into balls. Then ai freeze them, to be dipped in chocolate later, after I post this.



I made two trays of these.

Today, I made two pans of brownies and about four dozen cupcakes. Chocolate cupcakes with marshmallows and a little cherry filling, to be frosted in the morning.



Well, that’s enough of a break. I better get back to my frenzy. Stay tuned for party pictures tomorrow.


Here’s Mom, all excited about tomorrow. Her sister Frances and family sent her some gorgeous flowers.

One Response to “Friday:) My Feverish Baking Frenzy”

  1. Bonita June 11, 2017 at 5:32 am #

    Ohhhhhhh delicious goodies!! Have a great pahtee!

Leave a Reply

